Life as an Expat: Where Politics and Culture are Served Buffet Style

For the first time (and possibly not the last!) I am abroad for the US Presidential Elections. Watching the insanity unfold from afar has been interesting, because it has been quite unlike previous elections I have experienced. While the fact that it is the most expensive US Presidential Election ever probably suggests that there have been loads of commercials, signs, people going door-to-door, and Facebook Posts, so far the only part of that I have really experienced is the Facebook posts. Unlike in the States, where exposure to the elections is something like an assigned meal at a mess hall, where you can choose not to engage but it’ll be in front of you no matter what you do, here in the States it’s much more like a buffet: I am choosing exactly how much content I want to consume.

The Daily Nation, Kenya’s Flagship Newspaper, apparently wasn’t too worried about maintaining neutrality.

Basically, any news that I read (a lot) is entirely because I choose to. Therefore, my entire election exposure has come through NYTimes, NYTimes’ political blog (Five Thirty Eight), Sam Wang of Princeton, The Onion, and any editorials that I come across that I think are interesting. Because my only engagement is what I actively choose to pursue, I’m reading a lot of political forecasts and objective-ish stories about what’s unfolding, rather than listening to talking heads. And if something doesn’t interest me, I can COMPLETELY choose to not read or learn about it.

I realized recently that the same is probably true of pop culture in general. One of my friends in Kenya was talking about watching some shows from the States, and I realized that for whatever reason, it hadn’t really occurred to me that shows are still happening, and that American culture is progressing just as it has before, without me.

In a lot of ways, it’s quite pleasant. I chose to ignore baseball this time around, and when I received a NYTimes update (jeez, I’m sounding like a walking billboard for them) that the Giants had won the World Series, I was surprised to discover that baseball was at that point. In contrast, I check the scores of the NBA almost every day.

So admittedly, I’m losing a lot of “culture” and when I come back to the States, there will be many things that I’ll be oblivious to. On the flip side, the internet means I get to actively choose what culture I participate in. Like a buffet, I can skip over what doesn’t look especially appetizing, and instead gorge on what I do think will be enjoyable.

Because I enjoy election night, I plan on going to bed quite early tonight, and waking up at 4 AM my time/8 PM East Coast time. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to skip over the endless speculation, and jump in right as the results are being served.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life as an Expat: Where Politics and Culture are Served Buffet Style

  1. tooth sauce says:

    the onion doesn’t have a paywall in kenya? jake is always complaining about how he can’t access it for free in hong kong

    • nate0316 says:

      Yeah, I don’t know whether I should be embarrassed or proud of this, but there is in fact a paywall, and I decided screw it, I go to the Onion basically every day and it’s my favorite source of comedy, I may as well pay and experience it rather than be constantly bummed that I can’t.

  2. tooth sauce says:

    for sure proud! although it has gotten so much worse since half the staff quit when they moved to chicago a few months back. at times it feels like a bunch of college kids imitating the onion

Leave a Reply

